Tuesday, December 28, 2010

PRODUCT REVIEW: Gold Foil King Crowns Paper



I bought these to use for my son's "Where the Wild Things Are" birthday party. I had enough for each of the kids. There are slits that can be used to hold the ends together for adjustable sizing. They were not small enough for the age group (2-5 year-olds), but we made do by taping them. The kids thought they were great!

Thursday, December 23, 2010

Best Holiday Children's Books

I've recently posted reviews for some of my family's favorite Children's books.  Below are a few lists of Best Holiday Books for kids:

I actually had a hard time finding good lists of best holiday children's books.  Do you know of any good ones I'm missing?  What is your favorite holiday children's book?

Merry Christmas!

Thursday, December 16, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: The Poky Little Puppy's First Christmas by Justine Korman


In The Poky Little Puppy's First Christmas, the poky little puppy learns about the meaning of Christmas.  "The best gifts are the ones you give."  After reading that line, my six-year-old daughter said, "Not for me!," which made me realize I should be reading it to her a lot more often!  However, it gave us the opportunity to discuss "giving" and what Christmas is really about.  The Poky Little Puppy's First Christmas is in our selection of holiday books we will get out and read every year. 

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Merry Christmas, Mouse! by Laura Numeroff




I have seen a lot of negative reviews for this book.  I can understand the reason for the negative feedback.  The "If you give a..." series are wonderful children's books.  They are witty and fun to read. Merry Christmas, Mouse! is a completely different book, with a different style.  It is more appropriate for younger children or as a book for beginning-readers.  With that in mind, it's a nice Christmas book to read to children over the holiday season.

Thursday, December 9, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Mooseltoe by Margie Palatini


The holidays are hectic.  As parents we try to do all the things we're supposed to do - all the gift buying and wrapping, decorating, meal planning, etc. We're bound to forget something.  That's just what Moose did, so he has to get creative to make the holiday perfect for his family.

It's a cute story.  My only complaint is that the writing style is somewhat hard to read. It doesn't flow easily, but that might come with reading it a few times, which I'm sure will happen since the kids love it!

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Santa Mouse by Michael Brown



The original copyright for Santa Mouse is 1966, but don't let that turn you away.  Parents will love to read this book just as much as the kids will love to hear it, and that's the key to a perfect children's book!

Santa Mouse is a classic that will continue to be read to children for many years to come.  The story is adorable and the rhyming pattern is fun and easy to read. I look forward to getting this book out every year in December as we get ready for our own visit from Santa Claus.  Maybe this year we'll leave a piece of cheese beneath the tree in case he brings along his special, tiny friend.



Thursday, December 2, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: The Happiest Baby on the Block by Harvey Karp


I read this book almost six years ago during nursing sessions with my [first] newborn...sometimes at 2 in the morning. Since then I have bought copies for all the new moms in my life. It is an absolute must-read for new moms!

My husband's parents would cringe whenever they saw us wrap our daughter in swaddling blankets, but we knew it was what she needed and it worked every time. We would wrap her up every night and within minutes she would turn her head to the side and nod off. That (along with a pacifier) would comfort her and signal to her that it was time to sleep. We also swaddled our boys, but they required a little more swinging and shhh-shing.

All babies/kids are different and I don't think there's a "one size fits all" solution to any parenting issue; however, this book is a helpful guide to new parents, filled with ideas for how to give them what they need so they (and you) can rest easier.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: My Name is Russel Fink by Michael Snyder


Russell Fink sucks at life. He sucks at his job. He sucks at relationships. His life is a train wreck that you can't stop watching (or reading).

Have you ever had "one of those days"? That pretty much sums up Fink's life - one of those days that just keeps going on and on and on. Fink, a copy machine salesman who hates his job, is the neurotic son of a televangelist, miracle-working father and a quietly alcoholic mother. His grandfather is in prison for a double homicide. His twin sister died of leukemia when they were young, and Fink has always blamed himself for her death. His brother gets in some trouble with gambling and is kidnapped. While at risk of losing his job Fink feeds his Bassett Hound whiskey biscuits and believes his dog has the ability to predict the future. His controlling fiance will not allow him to break off their engagement while he discovers he is in love with a friend from his past.

At some point the bad luck in Fink's life begins to cross the line...how can all of this possibly happen to one person? But, the story begins to turn around and holds the reader's attention until the very end. It doesn't have a perfectly happy, everything-works-out-in-the-end kind of finale, but more of a there-is-hope-for-Russell-Fink-in-the-end. It's definitely a good read.

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak


I remember this book from when I was little, but didn't have it memorized until I started reading it to my kids...daily.  I have now read it so many times, I can probably tell the story page-by-page without glancing at the words once!

"Where the Wild Things Are" is the story of a boy who does something naughty, gets sent to his room and then begins imagining (or dreaming) a world where "Wild Things," or large roaring monsters with yellow eyes and sharp claws, roam.  This is where it gets fun to read with lots of emotion - rolling your eyes and showing your claws and roaring like a Wild Thing.  Max becomes KING of the wild things, but in the end he wants to go home, and when he does, the reader finds out that his mother (or father, who never appears in the story) still loves him despite his "wild" behavior.

This story is filled with emotion and is a lot of fun to read.  It holds the attention of my 18-month-old AND my 6-year-old. There is a section of pages where there are no words and the reader can fill in the story with their imagination.  My 3-year-old loved the story so much we planned a "Wild Things" birthday party for him where he got to be Max for the day!  As a parent, there's nothing better than a book you love to read that the kids love to hear, especially since you'll probably be reading it over and over and over...

Thursday, November 18, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Marketing in the Moment by Michael Tasner



ABOUT THE BOOK:

With the explosion in Web, mobile, and social media marketing channels, you have an extraordinary array of new marketing options to choose from. Which ones work? How do you make them work--without wasting a fortune on trial and error? Get this book, that’s how!

Top Web marketing consultant Michael Tasner has written the definitive practical guide to driving maximum value from next-generation Web, online, mobile, and social marketing. Drawing from his innovative marketing techniques, Tasner has written the first book on Web 3.0 marketing. Tasner helps marketers, entrepreneurs, and managers move beyond hype and high-level strategy to proven tactics and successful ground-level execution.

You'll discover which new marketing technologies deliver the best results and which hardly ever pay for themselves...how to use virtual collaboration to accomplish marketing projects faster and at lower cost...how to build realistic, practical action plans for the next three months, six months, and twelve months.

Whatever you sell, wherever you compete, no matter how large or small your company is, this book will help you build leads, traffic, sales, market share--and profits!
  • Capitalizing on the new “content marketing”
  • The megashift from blogging to microblogging--and what it means to you
  • A world run by smartphones: iPhones, BlackBerrys, and beyond
  • Reaching a billion cellphone users: SMS, MMS, mobile ads, voice broadcasts, and more
  • Plurk? UStream? Joost? Tumblr? iGoogle?
  • Profiting from the sites and tools you may never have heard of
  • Your Web marketing 360-degree review
  • Systematically optimizing everything you’re already doing online
MY REVIEW:

Whatever you are marketing, Marketing in the Moment by Michael Tasner is sure to provide you with new ideas for marketing your product to your target audience in a variety of different ways. Not all may apply to you or your business, but the book as a whole will give you a new perspective on marketing in real time.

What is Web 3.0? It is microblogging (i.e. Twitter), virtual reality worlds (i.e. Second Life), collaboration (Google Apps, Skype, etc), Mobile phones, and Customization (i.e. Amazon.com). Web 3.0 marketing utilizes new technologies to reach target consumers whose buying trends are rapidly changing. These technologies include videos, collaboration, mobile marketing, web applications, open source code, etc.

In the first chapter, Tasner defines Web 2.0, its limitations and gives a general overview of Web 3.0. He describes how to conduct a 360-degree review of your web platform and marketing efforts. He then goes deeper into Web 3.0 – what it is and specific ideas for how to reach your target audience. Throughout the book, he provides Case Studies, “Tas Tips” (or ah-ha points), Checklists and To Do tactics.

In the dotcom world, business has become less personal, less face-to-face. Web 3.0 brings people face-to-face again, where we can meet over the internet using streaming video and interact in real time, rather than the “old fashioned” method of email. Overall, I found this book very thought-provoking, and reading it once was not enough. I now need to read it through again and begin really taking Tasner’s tips and advice and putting them to practice.

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Dooby Dooby Moo by Doreen Cronin


Farmer Brown is suspicious.  His animals are up to something, but you'll never guess what. This book is tons of fun to read and the kids will be rolling on the floor laughing at the end.  You might need to explain it a little to the younger listener (under 5), but they'll still love to sing along when you read, "Dooby, dooby, dooby moo.  Dooby moo moo moo moo moo" to the tune of Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star!

I had never read anything by Doreen Cronin before, but this book definitely makes me want to read more of her books.

Friday, November 5, 2010

PRODUCT REVIEW: Amazon Kindle Wireless Reading Device


I don't have the newest version of the Kindle.  I have an older version, but I love it!  I typically review books on this blog, but since the holiday shopping season is coming up, I thought a product review might be helpful to readers as you are preparing you list of gift ideas.  The new Kindle is bigger, lighter and only $139!  It's a great gift for any reader on your list.  Here's my review...

Reading in the 21st Century!  The Kindle makes reading easy for a person who's on the go all the time. I've already loaded it up with a number of books I want to read and as I finish each one, I can move on to the next one wherever I am. I can browse the Kindle Bookstore and instantly download new books directly from the Kindle or use the 1-click button on Amazon.com to easily purchase books and have them sent directly to my Kindle in seconds.  The best part is Amazon provides a list of Top 100 FREE Kindle ebooks on their website.  You can browse that list once a week or so and find great books to load on your Kindle absolutely free!

Happy holiday shopping!

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Llama Llama Mad at Mama by Anna Dewdney


About the Book:

Does any child like to go shopping? Not Llama Llama! But Mama can’t leave Llama at home, so off they go to Shop-O-Rama. Lots of aisles. Long lines. Mama is too busy to notice that Llama Llama is getting m-a-d! And before he knows it, he’s having a full-out tantrum! Mama quickly calms him down, but she also realizes that they need to make shopping more fun for both of them.

My Review:

Every parent has had at least one horrible experience in the store where a bored toddler begins to throw a fit - yelling, screaming, pulling things off the shelf. As a parent myself, I'm sure I have never handled those moments as well as Mama Llama! "Llama llama mad at mama" helps parents communicate with little ones about emotions they feel when they are bored, mad and even the love they truly feel for their mamas.

After reading this one, we couldn't wait to get another "Llama llama" book. We now have "Llama llama misses mama" and will be getting more!

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Knuffle Bunny by Mo Willems



Not every child has a "Knuffle Bunny," but for those who do, this book will hit home. Poor little Trixie is hanging out with her daddy when the worst thing she could possibly imagine happens - her Knuffle Bunny disappears! Not able to communicate with words yet, Trixie does everything she can to "tell" her daddy something is wrong. I have to believe every parent has experienced their child going "boneless" in the trantrum state and can identify with the scenes Willems describes during Trixie's plea for her dad to listen. This book is action-packed and suspenseful for those little listening minds. My kids love to read/play along by finishing the sentences whenever I stop.

The humor in Mo Willems' books is different from most children's books we usually read. It often takes me one or two reads to get into the reading style of each of his books, but then they become even more fun to read. 

Saturday, October 23, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Monsters, Inc. Read Aloud Storybook by RH Disney



My 3-year-old son picked this book up at the library. He's very interested in monsters right now and loves this movie, so I thought it would be a fun book to read with him. When we opened it up, the first thing I noticed was that it was very long, which is not ideal for his age because he gets bored easily. As I started reading the book, the writing style seemed more like a book review than an actual story. It's very dry and hard read in places because the words don't seem to flow well. It is adapted from the movie, so I can see why the writer would do that, but it doesn't make the book fun or interesting to read. It may be a good book for a new reader to practice their new skill, but not a good, fun story-telling book for a parent to interact with their children.

Thursday, October 21, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: The Highly Effective Habits of 5 Successful Authors


ABOUT THE BOOK:

In The Highly Effective Habits of 5 Successful Authors, meet five successfully self-published authors and discover in their own words what contributed to their success.

How did Gang Chen earn over $100,000 in 180 days? How has Sally Shields transformed herself from a stay-at-home mom to a #1 Amazon.com bestselling author and book marketing dynamo? How did Ronnie Lee become one of the most prolific published authors in the world? How has Charlotte Endorf turned personal hardships into life-affirming successes? How did Andrew J. Rafkin find the motivation during a boating trip to write not one, not two, not three, but four award-winning novels?

Regardless of whether you are just starting to write your book, or exploring all your publishing options with a completed manuscript in your hands, the personal stories and effective habits of these five authors will surely inspire you!

Here they are:

Andrew J. Rafkin is a San Pedro native, a successful entrepreneur, and the current president of Palos Verdes Security Systems. Rafkin has received numerous awards for his books, including the EVVY literary award for Red Sky Morning and a gold, silver, and bronze "sweep" of the Action/Adventure category in the Readers Favorite Awards for his Madness trilogy: Creating Madness, Mediterranean Madness and Mexican Madness.

Charlotte Endorf was recognized as "Toastmaster of the Decade" and is a two-time winner of the coveted "Distinguished Toastmaster" award through her 10-year affiliation with Toastmasters International. She inspires and educates audiences with her professional talks designed to complement each of her many books, including By Train They Came, Plains Bound: Fragile Cargo, and Unsung Neighbors.

Gang Chen is a LEED AP BD+C and a licensed architect in California. He is also the internationally-acclaimed author of Architectural Practice Simplified, Planting Design Illustrated and several LEED exam guides including LEED AP Exam Guide, LEED BD&C Exam Guide, and LEED GA EXAM GUIDE.

Sally Shields is an award-winning pianist, composer, speaker, and author. She is also the #1 Amazon.com bestselling author of The Daughter-in-Law Rules: 101 Surefire Ways to Make Friends with Your Mother-In-Law! as well as The Collaborator Rules: 101 Surefire Ways to Stay Friends with Your Co-Author!

Ronnie Lee is a Chinese poet and philosopher. He has lived and studied in the United Kingdom, but now resides in Hong Kong, where he is working to establish greater awareness of modern philosophy and poetry. As one of the most prolific published authors today, his tomes include The Philosophy of Life, The Genius of the Metropolis, and The Meaning of Life, among many others.

Get inspired today...
 
MY REVIEW:
 
When it comes to self-publishing, authors define success in a number of ways. Some want to earn a lot of money in royalties, some have a message to deliver, some want to acheive awards or fame. The five authors in this book each had their own goals and reached them successfully through self-publishing and their book marketing efforts. This book is a great resource for writers who are considering publishing their work or for those authors who have already published their book(s) and want to read the stories and get the inspiration they need to continue on in their marketing efforts.

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Olivia by Ian Falconer




We received this book as a gift when my oldest child was 18-months-old. She is now 5 and I still want to read this to her every day! From the first few pages showing Olivia "wearing people out" to the silly page talking about Olivia combing the cat's ears to the "time out" (where my daugher would shout "mout!" for the longest time) to the "I love you" good night ending, it's a book that every young child and every parent can identify with. We continue to read this on a regular basis and it has become a classic book for our family.

Thursday, October 14, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: For The Love of God by Tony Sampson


For The Love of God takes the reader through a day in the life of a priest who is questioning his love for God.   Father O'Malley is struggling with his faith and thinks it is time to leave the Church.  He wants to pursue a life outside the Church, get married and have children.  He realizes he has come to believe there is no God.  

One morning he runs into a woman from his congregation, a woman with whom he believes he is in love.  Over the next few hours, Father O'Malley experiences a series of events that cause him to wrestle with the  emotions that come with this new love and the loss of a love he had (for God).  

"It had been only one day, but one I'd never forget."

I am not Catholic and cannot understand the Catholic tradition of not allowing priests to marry.  However, Sampson does an excellent job of pulling the reader into the mind of this once devoted Catholic priest and  enables you to see his point of view, whether you are Catholic or not.  It is an inspirational story about love and faith and following your heart.  

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Oh My Oh My Oh Dinosaurs! by Sandra Boynton



Sandra Boynton books are all a lot of fun to read to little ones, but this one is my favorite.  I have the best memories reading this with each of my kids when they were little.  As the reader, you can act out pages as you read and the kids will start to play along.  My daughter would watch my face intently as I would read "dinosaurs SAD" and "dinosaurs BAD."  My boys would giggle as I poked the dinosaurs and read "dinosaurs SPINY" and we'd all yell "OUCH!"

Over the last five years I have probably read this book at least 100 times and it never gets old.  I recommend this book for anyone with children ages 6 months to 3 years.

Thursday, October 7, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: I Need My Monster by Amanda Noll


My 3-year-old is currently very into monsters. He picked out this book at a book fair recently and I was a little worried it would be too scary for him. Throughout the book he kept asking questions, "why?," "what's that?" and I could tell it really got him thinking. When he went to bed we talked about the monsters under his bed. The next night it was the first book he picked to read before bed!

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Sell Your Book on Amazon by Brent Sampson


As a book marketing coach I work with hundreds of self-published authors who want to sell more copies of their books.  Sell Your Book on Amazon is THE resource guide for all authors who want to sell more copies of their book with America’s largest online retailer, Amazon.com.

Brent Sampson is the president and CEO of Outskirts Press (which offers full-service, custom self-publishing and book marketing services). In Sell Your Book on Amazon, Sampson walks readers through each of the key components of Amazon.  He tells readers step-by-step how to improve an author profile, perfect the book details page, add the Search Inside feature, create a Listmania list, and on and on. 

Sell Your Book on Amazon is invaluable for authors, regardless of where or when they published, even if they haven’t yet.  If you are an author in the process of writing your book, read this book now!  Then read it again after your book is published.  For best results, be sure to do *everything* Sampson suggests.  If you have already published your book and have it listed on Amazon, Sampson is sure to provide you with new ideas for how to network and promote your book and increase your sales.

Happy marketing!  

Thursday, September 30, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: Silly Sally by Audrey Wood


Silly Sally went to town, walking backwards, upside down. Follow along with Sally and read about all the characters she meets and all the silly things she does with them on her way to town. This book was an instant favorite for my 5-year-old who says the best part is "when the loon sang a tune."

Wednesday, September 29, 2010

5 Great Children's Book Reading Lists

  1. 100 Picture Books Everyone Should Know: http://kids.nypl.org/reading/recommended2.cfm?ListID=61
  2. Parents Best Children's Books by Age: http://www.parents.com/fun/book-gallery/
  3. Oprah's Kids' Reading List: http://www.oprah.com/packages/kid-reading-list.html
  4. The 100 Best Children's Books:http://www.parenthood.com/article-topics/the_100_best_childrens_books.html
  5. National Education Association (NEA) Kids' Top 100 Books: http://www.nea.org/grants/13110.htm
Which books on these lists have you read? Which list would YOU recommend?

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: 100 Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez


I read this book what seemed like 100 times in college (in Spanish).  It is not an easy book to read, but it became more interesting (and easier to understand) each time I read it.  The writing style, timeline and naming convention of the characters make the book challenging to understand, but also make it quite hysterical once the reader can get past that.

One Hundred Years of Solitude is a story about life and generations (each generation becoming the same as the previous).  It's about history and culture.  I would recommend this classic for anyone who has the patience to read through the challenging parts and push through to reflect on the deeper themes posed by Garcia Marquez.

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: The Very Cranky Bear by Nick Bland


I bought this book to read with my 2-year-old to help him discuss his emotions (he's a very emotional child). I had no idea I would be reading it nightly (sometimes twice in a row) for months. Luckily, it's fun to read. My kids love the story line and the ROARRRRing!

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: He Blew Her a Kiss by Angie Pechack Printup and Kelley Stewart Dollar



"Sometimes it comes as a brush of the shoulder, a breath, a familiar scent, or perhaps a gentle breeze when everything else is still. These remarkable sensations are all examples of our loved ones communicating to us after they are gone from this life."

He Blew Her a Kiss by Angie Pechak Printup and Kelley Stewart Dollar provides comfort and reassurance for readers who have suffered the loss of their loved ones. The dozens of stories of after-death communication from husbands, wives, children, grandchildren and others gently reassure the surviving that their loved ones live on and are still watching over them from the other side.

I recommend this book for anyone who has suffered the loss of someone they love.  If you have your own story to share, visit http://www.heblewherakiss.com/

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Book Review: Plug Your Book! by Steve Weber


About the Book (From Amazon):
  • Get massive exposure for your book, no special computer skills needed -- trade published or self published, fiction or nonfiction, eBook or paper book. 
  • Discover why authors fail with paid advertising, pay-per-click, fee-based reviews, and "bestseller" campaigns. 
  • Connect online with readers, driving them to Amazon and bookstores. -- Boost your visibility with Google, ignite word-of-mouth with social networks for viral marketing. 
  • Capitalize on peer content and "amateur" book reviews. 

My Review:

Plug Your Book! is full of helpful online marketing tips for authors. It's a resource guide every new author should read. Developing a platform as an author (online) is important for the overall success of a book and Weber tells authors how to do that. From creating a website to blogging (step-by-step) to promoting the book on Amazon - Weber covers it all!

I would like to see a second edition come out as technology changes so fast and new resources pop up all the time. For example, an entire chapter on Twitter could be added.

Thanks Steve Weber for all of these great ideas!!!

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Top 100 Books Lists

Here are a few "Top 100" Books lists I found online:

100 Best Novels by Random House
http://www.randomhouse.com/modernlibrary/100bestnovels.html

ALL TIME 100 Novels by Time
http://www.time.com/time/specials/packages/completelist/0,29569,1951793,00.html

100 Notable Books of the Year by the New York Times Book Review
http://www.nytimes.com/ref/books/review/20061203notable-books.html

Top 100 Nonfiction Books of the Century by Powell's Books
http://www.nytimes.com/ref/books/review/20061203notable-books.html

The Top 100 for 2009 by USA Today
http://www.usatoday.com/life/books/news/2010-01-05-top-books-2009_N.htm

Which books on these lists have you read?  Which list would YOU recommend?

Friday, February 26, 2010

Book Review: Vanish by Tom Pawlik



The story starts out with snapshots in the lives of the three main characters – Mitch, Conner and Helen. After noticing an on-coming storm, all three wake up to find everyone else has disappeared. While searching for signs of life, they find one another and begin their journey to find out what has happened to the world as they knew it. They come in to contact with strange beings they think may be aliens and find other people, some of whom disappear just like the others.

I started reading this book without really knowing what I was getting myself into.  About half way through, I wondered if I was reading some Sci-Fi Thriller (which I wouldn't normally pick), so I started reading some of the reviews by other readers on Amazon.  I discovered the author is a Christian writer and some readers were unhappy that the Christian theme/message was hidden until the end...until they had already gotten hooked.  Knowing that was helpful, but certainly didn't make me like the book any less. 

I couldn't put this book down.  I highly recommend it if you like Mystery, and particularly if you like Christian Fiction.

Monday, February 22, 2010

Currently Reading...

Book Description:

It began with a power outage. A power outage that went beyond lights and televisions. Clocks stopped telling time. Cell phones no longer received signals. Cars became dead relics that wouldn't start.


As the world around them becomes darker, so do the inhabitants of the small town of Westmont, Illinois. A mysterious and evil presence has taken a hold over the village, making the once peaceful town a place of violence and despair.

A small group of individuals, untouched by this presence, must uncover the mystery of why they remain normal and discover what - or who - is taking control of their town, one soul at a time.

Because the Man in the Dark Coat is out there. Hunting them.

And not everyone can remain untouched forever.

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Introduction

We are a brand new book review site seeking book reviewers and books to review!


Interested in submitting your book for review?

To submit your book for review please contact readandtellreviews@gmail.com with a short synopsis. If one of our reviewers is interested in receiving a review copy they will contact you via email.

Interested in becoming a reviewer?

Volunteer reviewers must commit to read at least one book per month. Once the book is completed, the reviewer writes a review of around 400-800 words (Children’s book reviews can be much shorter) using the format below and submits it to readandtellreviews@gmail.com.

Review Format:

Title
Author
Publisher
Publisher Phone Number and URL (if any)
ISBN, Price, Publication Date
Reviewed by (your name) for Read&TellReviews

BODY – 400-800 words

First paragraph – Synopsis, what is the main point or plot?

Second paragraph – Feedback about the book, writing style, plot, etc. Begin with positive and then include negative (if any). What was your opinion of the book, the characters, the plot, your favorite part, what you learned, etc.

Third paragraph – Conclusion, summary paragraph on overall feel of the book, your recommendation, etc.

If you are interested in becoming a reviewer, contact us at readandtellreviews@gmail.com.

Monday, February 8, 2010

Become a Book Reviewer

Volunteer reviewers must commit to read at least one book per month. Once the book is completed, the reviewer writes a review of around 400-800 words (Children’s book reviews can be much shorter) using the format below and submits it to readandtellreviews@gmail.com.

Review Format:

Title
Author
Publisher
Publisher Phone Number and URL (if any)
ISBN, Price, Publication Date
Reviewed by (your name) for Read&TellReviews

BODY – 400-800 words

First paragraph – Synopsis, what is the main point or plot?

Second paragraph – Feedback about the book, writing style, plot, etc. Begin with positive and then include negative (if any). What was your opinion of the book, the characters, the plot, your favorite part, what you learned, etc.

Third paragraph – Conclusion, summary paragraph on overall feel of the book, your recommendation, etc.

If you are interested in becoming a reviewer, contact us at readandtellreviews@gmail.com.